Opinions on Jetta Tredline+/ Mazda CX3/Elantra GL Sedan or Elantra GT GL Hatchlove car

  • Last Updated:
  • Jan 12th, 2018 9:40 pm

Poll: Which one would you prefer,,,

  • Total votes: 12. You have voted on this poll.
2017 Jetta Tredline+ 220/mo
5
42%
2018 Mazda CX3 GX 272/mo
2
17%
2018 Hyundai Elantra GL Sedan 250/mo
2
17%
2018 Elantra GT GL Hatch 270/mo
3
25%
001Stunna [OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 20, 2005
2862 posts
195 upvotes

Jan 12th, 2018 2:05 pm

Opinions on Jetta Tredline+/ Mazda CX3/Elantra GL Sedan or Elantra GT GL Hatch

Have been looking for a commuter car that is comfortable for long(er) drives for 2 people and offers reliability and safety. We've ended up test driving a few and narrowed down to financing one of...

2017 Jetta Tredline+ 220/mo

2018 Mazda CX3 GX 272/mo

2018 Hyundai Elantra GL Sedan 250/mo

2018 Elantra GT GL Hatch 270/mo

*monthly dollar figures are estimates on what I believe can get it worked out to*

Was hoping to gather some opinions on either of the above and your experience thoughts on them whether positive or negative...

Last edited by

001Stunna

on Jan 12th, 2018 2:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

12 replies

Jan 12th, 2018 2:15 pm
OKSpring
Member
Jan 23, 2017
480 posts
292 upvotes
Calgary

Jan 12th, 2018 2:15 pm

You've literally picked entirely different classes of vehicles.

Narrow down what class vehicle you want (compact, compact hatch, sub-compact CUV..).

For comfort, generally a longer wheelbase is going to be more comfortable.

Jan 12th, 2018 2:21 pm
001Stunna [OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 20, 2005
2862 posts
195 upvotes

Jan 12th, 2018 2:21 pm

OKSpring wrote: ↑

Jan 12th, 2018 2:15 pm

You've literally picked entirely different classes of vehicles.

Narrow down what class vehicle you want (compact, compact hatch, sub-compact CUV..).

For comfort, generally a longer wheelbase is going to be more comfortable.

I can understand your point...it is ideally what the end result was after spending a few days test driving many possibilities.

Jan 12th, 2018 2:24 pm
BBZero
Newbie
Opinions on Jetta Tredline+/ Mazda CX3/Elantra GL Sedan or Elantra GT GL Hatchlove car
Nov 15, 2017
94 posts
34 upvotes

Jan 12th, 2018 2:24 pm

CX-3 is a joke of a car. It offers next to nothing in terms of performance, comfort, and practicality. You'd be much better off with a Mazda3 Sport, or compact crossovers from competitor brands.
Elantra is a compact sedan focused on comfort and tech. Current gen Jetta is old, but you do get a deal on those.

Jan 12th, 2018 2:28 pm
bhrm
Deal Addict
Jul 13, 2009
2527 posts
432 upvotes

Jan 12th, 2018 2:28 pm

New Jetta will be revealed some time this year, definitely push for a deal for a 2017. It's dated, but engine is fairly new and great fuel economy/performance.

Jan 12th, 2018 2:34 pm
aeba7
Deal Fanatic
Opinions on Jetta Tredline+/ Mazda CX3/Elantra GL Sedan or Elantra GT GL Hatchlove car
Nov 4, 2008
5014 posts
2298 upvotes
Richmond Hill

Jan 12th, 2018 2:34 pm

BBZero wrote: ↑

Jan 12th, 2018 2:24 pm

CX-3 is a joke of a car. It offers next to nothing in terms of performance, comfort, and practicality. You'd be much better off with a Mazda3 Sport, or compact crossovers from competitor brands.

Elantra is a compact sedan focused on comfort and tech. Current gen Jetta is old, but you do get a deal on those.

Agreed. Comparing Mazdas to Mazdas - I'd forget the CX3 and go for a 3 hatch. I'm also surprised that the civic didn't make your list; it's definitely one of the better compacts available.

When given enough time, all threads on RFD can and will go off on a tangent.

Jan 12th, 2018 2:36 pm
001Stunna [OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 20, 2005
2862 posts
195 upvotes

Jan 12th, 2018 2:36 pm

aeba7 wrote: ↑

Jan 12th, 2018 2:34 pm

Agreed. Comparing Mazdas to Mazdas - I'd forget the CX3 and go for a 3 hatch. I'm also surprised that the civic didn't make your list; it's definitely one of the better compacts available.

Test drove the civic and the wife did not like it. The car being one she'll be commuting in about 80km(one way a day)...choice was left up to her.

Jan 12th, 2018 2:38 pm
aeba7
Deal Fanatic
Opinions on Jetta Tredline+/ Mazda CX3/Elantra GL Sedan or Elantra GT GL Hatchlove car
Nov 4, 2008
5014 posts
2298 upvotes
Richmond Hill

Jan 12th, 2018 2:38 pm

001Stunna wrote: ↑

Jan 12th, 2018 2:36 pm

Test drove the civic and the wife did not like it. The car being one she'll be commuting in about 80km(one way a day)...choice was left up to her.

Gotcha - happy wife, happy life lol

Of that list, I'd probably lean towards the elantra hatch. It wasn't available when I was buying my car, but on paper, it looks good

When given enough time, all threads on RFD can and will go off on a tangent.

Jan 12th, 2018 3:03 pm
sickcars
Deal Fanatic
Mar 13, 2004
8220 posts
863 upvotes
Toronto, Ontario

Jan 12th, 2018 3:03 pm

We recently got a 2017 Jetta also, coming from a 2011 Jetta TDI and my mom is pretty happy with it. She says it drives much better and has the nice review camera and other features she did not have before. It also has lots of trunk space which is great.

if you are in the GTA or willing to come down to the GTA let me know and I can get you into contact with a sales manager and give you a good deal on a Jetta as I have provided with other RFD users.

0_o
<_<
>_>

Jan 12th, 2018 3:32 pm
TheOneBarton
Member
Sep 12, 2003
478 posts
5 upvotes
Toronto

Jan 12th, 2018 3:32 pm

Which vw are you recommending in the gta?

Heatware: TheOneBarton

Jan 12th, 2018 4:51 pm
malecoke
Deal Addict
Aug 1, 2007
1922 posts
401 upvotes

Jan 12th, 2018 4:51 pm

OP how are you planning to get a brand new jetta for 220/month?!

Jan 12th, 2018 5:57 pm
001Stunna [OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 20, 2005
2862 posts
195 upvotes

Jan 12th, 2018 5:57 pm

sickcars wrote: ↑

Jan 12th, 2018 3:03 pm

We recently got a 2017 Jetta also, coming from a 2011 Jetta TDI and my mom is pretty happy with it. She says it drives much better and has the nice review camera and other features she did not have before. It also has lots of trunk space which is great.

if you are in the GTA or willing to come down to the GTA let me know and I can get you into contact with a sales manager and give you a good deal on a Jetta as I have provided with other RFD users.

We are in the GTA and would have no issue traveling for a worth it deal as well. I was planning on purchasing from a dealer that is part of my workplace perk program; I would appreciate a pm with the contact you mention if your time allows. and if i may ask...how are you(your mom) finding the mileage on it.


malecoke wrote: ↑

Jan 12th, 2018 4:51 pm

OP how are you planning to get a brand new jetta for 220/month?!

Based on my calculations, my chosen downpayment, and using tools such as CCC, unhaggle etc. Point of the post wasnt the dollar amounts per month but more of the car and pros/cons.

Jan 12th, 2018 9:40 pm
Crixus45
Jr. Member
Feb 8, 2017
171 posts
111 upvotes

Jan 12th, 2018 9:40 pm

1. Corolla

2. Civic

For your listed choices, I would choose either Hyundai or Mazda

Display posts from previous:

Sort by